Matthew, Revelation

The Beatitudes

Good Afternoon. It is Fri-yah!

The season of Lent began on Wednesday. Easter will be here soon.

I grew up Catholic, so I remember reading the Beatitudes often. As we read through Revelations on Wednesday, our Pastor listed 7 of the Beatitudes in The Book of Revelation. I find the Beatitudes in Matthew and Luke, much easier to understand, so I will list of all them. Our church always says that the bible is the best reference for the bible.

Seven of the Beatitudes are found in the Book of Revelation.

    1. Blessed is he who reads and those who hear the words of this prophecy, and keep those things which are written in it; for the time is near.
      –Revelation 1:3 (NKJV)
    2. Then I heard a voice from heaven saying to me, “Write: ‘Blessed are the dead who die in the Lord from now on.’
      “Yes,” says the Spirit, “that they may rest from their labors, and their works follow them.”
      –Revelation 14:13 (NKJV)
    3. “Behold, I am coming as a thief. Blessed is he who watches, and keeps his garments, lest he walk naked and they see his shame.
      –Revelation 16:15 (NKJV)
    4. Then he said to me, “Write: ‘Blessed are those who are called to the marriage supper of the Lamb!’ ” And he said to me, “These are the true sayings of God.”
      –Revelation 19:9 (NKJV)
    5. Blessed and holy is he who has part in the first resurrection. Over such the second death has no power, but they shall be priests of God and of Christ, and shall reign with Him a thousand years.
      –Revelation 20:6 (NKJV)
    6. “Behold, I am coming quickly! Blessed is he who keeps the words of the prophecy of this book.
      –Revelation 22:7 (NKJV)
    7. Blessed are those who do His commandments, that they may have the right to the tree of life, and may enter through the gates into the city.
      –Revelation 22:14 (NKJV)

The full list of Beatitudes are listed in the book of Matthew 5:1-12. I numbered the Beatitudes, since they are often taught this way.


The Beatitudes
And seeing the multitudes, He went up on a mountain, and when He was seated His disciples came to Him. Then He opened His mouth and taught them, saying:

  1. “Blessed are the poor in spirit,
    For theirs is the kingdom of heaven.
  2. Blessed are those who mourn,
    For they shall be comforted.
  3. Blessed are the meek,
    For they shall inherit the earth.
  4. Blessed are those who hunger and thirst for righteousness,
    For they shall be filled.
  5. Blessed are the merciful,
    For they shall obtain mercy.
  6. Blessed are the pure in heart,
    For they shall see God.
  7. Blessed are the peacemakers,
    For they shall be called sons of God.
  8. Blessed are those who are persecuted for righteousness’ sake,
    For theirs is the kingdom of heaven.Blessed are you when they revile and persecute you, and say all kinds of evil against you falsely for My sake. Rejoice and be exceedingly glad, for great is your reward in heaven, for so they persecuted the prophets who were before you.
    –Matthew 5:1-12 New King James Version (NKJV)

Four of the Beatitudes are listed in the book of Luke 6:20-22. What better advice can you get for life?

The Beatitudes
Then He lifted up His eyes toward His disciples, and said:

    1. “Blessed are you poor,
      For yours is the kingdom of God.
    2. Blessed are you who hunger now,
      For you shall be filled.
    3. Blessed are you who weep now,
      For you shall laugh.
    4. Blessed are you when men hate you,
      And when they exclude you,
      And revile you, and cast out your name as evil,
      For the Son of Man’s sake.
      –Luke 6:20-22 (NKJV)

Thank you for reading my blog. Have a great weekend!

1 thought on “The Beatitudes”

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.